Quicklinks
Texas Counties Deliver

Katherine R. Brooks

115 W. Main, Room 101
Edna, TX 77957
Phone: 361-782-3563
Fax: 361-782-3132
Email: k.brooks@co.jackson.tx.us


Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday 8:00AM-4:45PM

*Open thru the lunch hour*



Email address for open records requests, inquires, etc:  jcclerk@co.jackson.tx.us
 

 

Office Staff:

Katherine Brooks, County Clerk

Janet Whitley, Deputy Clerk - Vital Statistics & Guardianships

Sarita De La Garza, Deputy Clerk - Elections

Maria Mejia, Deputy Clerk - Criminal Records

Erin Rodriguez, Deputy Clerk - Probate

Karen Figirova, Deputy Clerk - Recording and Official Records

Visit our Facebook page at: Jackson County Clerk's Office | Facebook 

  • Day
  • Week
  • Month
  • Agenda
  • Categories
    • Select All
    • General
  • Print
  • iCal
  • RSS
June 2021
Previous Month 06/20/2021 - 06/26/2021Next Month
Day Start End Event - Description Action
Sun
 20
       
  • Your Name
    Your Phone Number
    Your Email
    Confirm Email:
    Reason for Inquiry
  • REQUESTS FOR DEED, OFFICIAL RECORDS, PROBATE or CRIMINAL RECORDS

    Please fill out the below form to request copies of deeds, probate records, criminal records, etc. and email to jcclerk@co.jackson.tx.us .  After we receive payment, we will send documents by mail or email as requested.   

    Payment

    Copies are $1.00 per page.  We accept cash, check and credit card (by phone.)  Please make checks payable to: Jackson County Clerk.

    Processing Time

    Your request will be processed in the order in which it is received. Normal processing time is 1-2 business days.

    Request Form

  • BIRTH CERTIFICATES

    Certified Copies of birth certificates are $23.00 each.

    Birth records are CLOSED for 75 years from the date of birth.

    Only a qualified applicant can request a birth (within 75 years) - records older than 75 years can be obtained by anyone.

    For individuals born in Jackson County:

    Birth records from 1903 to present are available Some delayed birth certificates are available prior to 1903.

    For individuals born in other Texas counties:

    Abstract birth certificates (short form birth certificates) can be accessed by the County Clerk's office via state system. The remote site access begins in 1926. Anyone needing a birth certificate prior to 1926 must contact the county of birth. Remote access is not available for those having a Delayed Birth Certificate. Some abstract birth certificates are not accepted for passport purposes.

    To obtain a certified copy:

    A qualified applicant may complete an application form including a copy of the applicant's current valid form of identification. Applications may be completed in the County Clerk's Office or requested by mail to: Jackson County Clerk, 115 W. Main Street Room# 101 Edna, Texas  77957. Mail request must include the Notarized Proof of Identification/Affidavit of Personal Knowledge form.

    Qualified Applicant:

    Self, Father (when listed on the record; if not listed, has a court order stating he is the father), Mother, Grandfather (see notation for father), Grandmother (see notation for father), Sibling, Spouse, Legal Guardian (a copy of the legal guardianship papers is required as proof), Legal Representative (document from the qualified applicant needed), a Local, State and Federal law enforcement or governmental agencies (by demonstrating a direct or tangible interest in the record when the information in the record is necessary to implement a statutory provision or to protect a personal legal property right).

    Proper Identification:

    Each applicant must present a current valid form of photo identification (government issued), such as driver's license, state issued identification card or other valid form of photo identification. If you do not have a valid photo ID or have questions about ID requirements, please call the County Clerk's office at 361-782-3563.

    *Method of payment: Cash, check, money order or credit card. Check or money order made payable to Jackson County Clerk.

    Application for Certified Birth and Death Record


     

    DEATH CERTIFICATES

    Certified Copies of death certificates are $21.00 for the first copy and $4.00 for each additional copy.

     

    Death records are CLOSED for 25 years from the date of death.

    Only a qualified applicant can request a birth (within 25 years) - records older than 25 years can be obtained by anyone.

    For deaths that occurred in Jackson County:

    Death records from 1903 to present are available.

    To obtain a certified copy:

    A qualified applicant may complete an application form including a copy of the applicant's current valid form of identification. Applications may be completed in the County Clerk's Office or requested by mail to: Jackson County Clerk, 115 W. Main Street Room# 101 Edna, Texas  77957. Mail request must include the Notarized Proof of Identification/Affidavit of Personal Knowledge form.

    Qualified Applicant:

    Self, Father (when listed on the record; if not listed, has a court order stating he is the father), Mother, Grandfather (see notation for father), Grandmother (see notation for father), Sibling, Spouse, Legal Guardian (a copy of the legal guardianship papers is required as proof), Legal Representative (document from the qualified applicant needed), a Local, State and Federal law enforcement or governmental agencies (by demonstrating a direct or tangible interest in the record when the information in the record is necessary to implement a statutory provision or to protect a personal legal property right).

    Proper Identification:

    Each applicant must present a current valid form of photo identification (government issued), such as driver's license, state issued identification card or other valid form of photo identification. If you do not have a valid photo ID or have questions about ID requirements, please call the County Clerk's office at 361-782-3563.

    Method of payment: Cash, check, money order or credit card. Check or money order made payable to Jackson County Clerk.

    Application for Certified Birth and Death Record


    MARRIAGE LICENSE

    Requirements for obtaining a Marriage License:

    • Both parties must appear to make application.
    • Both parties must provide current valid state or government issued picture identification and social security cards.
    • Both parties must be 18 years of age, or if under 18, accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. Parental guardian must provide valid identification, proof of parentage and complete a parent consent form. Under the age of 16 will require a court order.
    • If either applicant is divorced the divorce must have been final for 30 days prior to obtaining a new marriage license.

    There is a 72 hour waiting period once a couple has obtained a marriage license. This means that the couple cannot get married until that 72 hour waiting period is over. The only way to waive the 72 hour waiting period is per a judge's order; or if one of the applicants is on active military duty; or upon completion of an approved premarital education course and provides certificate to County Clerk for verification.

    The marriage license is valid for 90 days after the issuance date. The person who conducts the marriage ceremony shall return the original license to the County Clerk, once the marriage is recorded the license will be mailed to the couple at the address indicated on the application or held within the office for the couple to pick up.

    Costs:

    $ 82.00 to obtain a marriage license.

    Declaration of Informal Marriage:

    The County Clerk's office also issues Declaration of Information Marriage Licenses. The costs is $47.00. Please call for more information (361) 782-3563.

    Office hours for Marriage License issuance:

    Monday -- Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    COPY OF MARRIAGE LICENSE

    The County Clerk's Office has marriage licenses from 1837 to present. Marriage Licenses are public record and anyone wishing to obtain a copy may do so. The cost of a certified copy is $6.00-$7.00.  Anyone wishing to request a certified copy of a marriage license may send a request with the party's names and date of marriage along with the correct payment to: Jackson County Clerk’s Office 115 W. Main Street Room#101  Edna, Texas  77957.

    Application for Certified Copy of Marriage License


    Request for Copy of Military Discharge Form (DD-214)

    Military Discharge records (DD-214) are recorded in the County Clerk’s office at no charge to the Veteran.

    Government Code Sec. 552.140:

    EXCEPTION: CONFIDENTIALITY OF MILITARY DISCHARGE RECORDS.

    (a) This section applies only to a military veteran's Department of Defense Form DD-214 or other military discharge record that is first recorded with or that otherwise first comes into the possession of a governmental body on or after September 1, 2003.

    (b) The record is confidential for the 75 years following the date it is recorded with or otherwise first comes into the possession of a governmental body. During that period the governmental body may permit inspection or copying of the record or disclose information contained in the record only in accordance with this section or in accordance with a court order.

    (c) On request and the presentation of proper identification, the following persons may inspect the military discharge record or obtain from the governmental body free of charge a copy or certified copy of the record:

    (1) the veteran who is the subject of the record;

    (2) the legal guardian of the veteran;

    (3) the spouse or a child or parent of the veteran or, if there is no living spouse, child, or parent,        the nearest living relative of the veteran;

    (4) the personal representative of the estate of the veteran;

    (5) the person named by the veteran, or by a person described by Subdivision (2), (3), or (4), in an appropriate power of attorney executed in accordance with Section 490, Chapter XII, Texas Probate Code;

    (6) another governmental body; or

    (7) an authorized representative of the funeral home that assists with the burial of the veteran.

    Please fax, mail, or E-mail Requests along with identification.

    Request for Copy of Military Discharge Form

  • ASSUMED NAME (DBA)

    Assumed Name (DBA) Certificates are filed with the County Clerk in the county/counties where the business is located and/or will conduct business. The certificates are valid for a period of ten (10) years from the date filed in the County Clerk’s Office. Certificate must be signed before a notary public prior to filing within County Clerk’s Office. 

    Fee for filing: $24

    Application for Assumed Name (DBA)

    Abandonment of Assumed Name (DBA)


    MARKS & BRANDS REGISTRATION INFORMATION

    Marks and brands registrations are good for 10 years and everyone has to renew their brands at the same time. The current brand registration period begins August 31, 2011 through August 30, 2021.

    Application forms may be completed in person at the Jackson County Clerk's Office or mailed to the Jackson County Clerk at 115 W. Main Street Room# 101. Edna, Texas 77957. If you wish to mail your application to us, you MUST have it acknowledged by a notary before sending it to us.

    Fee for filing: $26.00 for first location on animal and $5.00 for each additional location on animal.

    For Additional Information: Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association 800-242-7820 www.tscra.org 

    Marks & Brand Application and Renewal


    MISC FORMS

    Redaction of Social Security Number

  • **MANDATORY CIVIL E-FILING JANUARY 1, 2016**

    Effective January 1, 2016 all CIVIL, PROBATE AND GUARDIANSHIP filings from attorneys must be filed electronically with the Jackson County Clerk's office.  

    **MANDATORY CRIMINAL E-FILING JULY 1, 2019**

    Effective July 1, 2019 all subsequent criminal filings from attorneys must be filed electronically with the Jackson County Clerk's office

    Please click on www.eFileTexas.gov for a list of E-File Service Providers (EFSP)


    •  

    • Any time you receive a jury summons, be sure to call the County Clerks Office the day prior or the morning of the jury call.  Cancellations are posted on this website and to our Facebook page at: Jackson County Clerk's Office | Facebook .

      Should there be a reason other than a legal exemption that you are unable to attend the jury call, please complete a juror affidavit in our office the week prior to the jury call.  The judge will then determine how to address your excuse.